What would you do?


Just recently I was in a clothing store trying on a few items.  In the dressing room next to me, I could hear a mother and daughter talking about how they needed to go on diets to lose weight, and how the mother would like to lose enough weight so that she could wear the same clothes as her daughter.

I didn’t see the two of them outside of the dressing room, but part of me desperately wanted to tell them that they are beautiful just the way they are.

Have you ever encountered a situation like this?  What did you do?  Has someone ever commented on you saying you want to lose weight or fit into a different size?  How did it make you feel?

One thought on “What would you do?

  1. This is a TOUGH situation. I myself have been there too many times…my mother is wonderful, but her chronic dieting and obsession with weight had an impact on me at a very young age. Truth–if I had overheard this conversation, I would not have intervened. A conversation between mother and daughter should remain that, especially when a stranger comes into play. That said–there are many other opportunities we have to say something. I am a teacher and a church leader…I see it as my job to stress to young women that who they see in the mirror does not reflect who there truly are on the inside. When it is appropriate, we should step up and speak…a private conversation in a dressing room is not that time. Still, we should always put ourselves out there as much as possible to be willing to speak to women about things like what you witnessed.

    I wish that when i was 12 years ole, I had heard a women speak about body image. Maybe then, I could have avoided many years of self abuse.
    Still, if a stranger had stepped into a private conversation with my mother and I, I think my mom might have punched them.

    TOUGH situation.

    praying for guidance.

Leave a Reply

