Inner Door Center® Staff Feature: Megan Smith, RD


Meet Megan Smith, RD!

Job Title at Inner Door Center®:  Registered dietitian and social media coordinator.

What is the difference between a “Registered Dietitian (RD)” and a “Nutritionist”?: A registered dietitian is a food and nutrition expert who has met academic and professional requirements including:

  • Earned a bachelor’s degree with course work approved by ADA’s Commission on Accreditation for Dietetics Education. Coursework typically includes food and nutrition sciences, foodservice systems management, business, economics, computer science, sociology, biochemistry, physiology, microbiology and chemistry.
  • Completed an accredited, supervised practice program at a health-care facility, community agency or foodservice corporation.
  • Passed a national examination administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration.
  • Completes continuing professional educational requirements to maintain registration.

Some RDs may call themselves “nutritionists,” but not all nutritionists are registered dietitians. The definition and requirements for the term “nutritionist” vary. Some states have licensure laws that define the range of practice for someone using the designation “nutritionist,” but in other states, virtually anyone can call him- or herself a “nutritionist” regardless of education or training. (Source:  American Dietetic Association website)

What does a work day look like for you?:  I usually see a few patients for one-on-one nutrition counseling daily.  I also teach a didactic nutrition class once per week in our Reconnect with Food® program.  When I’m here I also help out with preparing lunch, eating with clients and facilitators, and answering questions about nutrition.  When I’m not doing something nutrition related, I am working on social media such as this blog, our Facebook, Twitter, etc.

What is your favorite part of your job?:  I love connecting with patients and building a trusting relationship with them.  I love when I see my patients overcome their struggles with food and eat “normally” again.  And I love the laid back atmosphere here at the Inner Door Center®.

Your life outside of the Inner Door Center®:  Outside of working at the Inner Door Center®, I am also a musician.  I play clarinet in a community band with my fiance.  I also work at a music store a few hours a week – I’ve worked there since I was in high school and love helping young musicians choose their first instruments and further their musical education.

Leave a Reply

