Inner Door Center® Staff Feature: Whitney Kulas


Meet Whitney Kulas, Inner Door Center®’s Outpatient Intake Coordinator!

What is a typical day like for you at Inner Door Center®?:  For the bulk of my day I work in the office answer phone calls, calling insurance companies to get benefits, scheduling new patients, and filing paperwork.  I also do the grocery shopping for the program and pick out lunches and snacks for patients.  I run other random errands as needed.

Where did you go to school and for what?:  I graduated from Central Michigan University with a B.S.W. (Bachelors in Social Work) and a Bachelor’s degree in Fashion Merchandising.

What are your future career goals?:  I want to get my MSW (Masters in Social Work) from Wayne State University.  Eventually I would like to work as a social worker with kids in a school setting.

What made you want to work at Inner Door Center®?:  The job offered a unique experience working with eating disorders.  Inner Door Center® is the only place like it in Michigan.  I really enjoy working in a place that relates to my degree in social work, and I like the holistic approach here.

What are your hobbies?:  Sewing.  Shopping.  Volunteering with kids.  And traveling.

So I heard you are traveling in the near future… tell me about your trip!:  I am going to California with a friend of mine from Australia.  We are taking a two week road trip to travel the entire state.  Some of the places we are going include Los Angeles, the Redwood Forest, Yosemite, San Diego, and San Francisco.  I am most excited to go to Alcatraz and to bike across the Golden Gate Bridge.

What is your favorite book?:  HARRY POTTER.  I can’t choose a favorite from the series, I love all of the books.  I went to the Harry Potter exhibit at Rockefeller Center in New York City.  My friends made fun of me because I wanted to try the sorting hat!  I also dressed up as Ron Weasley for a kids camp – I still have my costume!

Who inspires you the most?:  Jeff Nelson.  He was the youth minister at the church I attended growing up.  He is the reason that I decided to go into social work and why I love volunteering with children.  He makes a difference in people’s lives and I want to do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

