Meet Our Interns!


This week in Michigan there is a big rival game between two universities – Michigan State University and the University of Michigan.  Here at the Inner Door Center®, we have two new interns who each represent one of the universities.  In honor of the MSU vs U of M game this weekend, meet our interns!

Brook McDonald – Michigan State University

Where did you go to school?
I went to Eastern Michigan University and received a Bachelor’s of Science in Psychology. I am currently attending the Masters of Clinical Social Work program at Michigan State University.

What made you choose your area of study?
I chose clinical social work because I have always wanted to become a therapist to help people work through their struggles. I have personally been through many of my own struggles and feel that I would be able to draw from my personal experiences and use the tools that helped me to heal to teach others to do so as well.

How did you learn about the Inner Door Center®?
I heard about Inner Door Center® from my Field Placement Officer at Michigan State University. She suggested that Inner Door Center® would be a great fit for me and that it aligned with my future career interests.

What do you hope to learn from Inner Door Center®?
I hope to learn the skills and experience needed to become a competent therapist. I feel that in the short time I have been an Intern at the Inner Door Center® I have already learned a great deal both from my Field Instructor Debbie Langer and from working with the clients in program.

What is your future goal for work?
My goal for the future is to work in an outpatient setting as a clinical social worker providing therapy to families and individuals.

What is an interesting fact about you?
I’m an animal enthusiast. I’ve always love animals and fighting for the rights of animals. I also have rescued several animals throughout my life.  I help by fostering them and finding otherwise unadoptable animals homes.

Cassie – The University of Michigan

Where did you go to school?
I received my bachelor’s degree in Secondary Education, English and Psychology from Calvin College.  Currently, I am working on my Master of Social Work at the University of Michigan.

What made you choose your area of study?
I was a high school English teacher for two years in San Francisco, CA and St. Louis, MO. While I have a heart for working with students, I found myself wanting to educate and help others through counseling and therapy.

How did you learn about the Inner Door Center®?
Having struggled with an eating disorder in the past and now maintaining recovery, I was looking specifically for an eating disorders treatment programs for my internship. When I heard about the Inner Door Center®, it was a great fit for me and what covered what I wanted to learn.

What do you hope to learn from Inner Door Center®?
I hope to learn more about the specific needs of clients with eating disorders. I look forward to learning more about how to collaborate on a multidisciplinary team of professionals to serve clients on a variety of levels.

What is your future goal for work?
I am eager to collaborate with individuals suffering from eating disorders to better understand the meaning and function of their symptoms, build their motivation for and confidence in recovery, learn and experiment with healthier coping skills and ways of thinking, and ultimately cultivate a life of joy and meaning.

What is an interesting fact about you?
I love backpacking, kayaking, reading, cooking, and getting inspired on Pinterest.

Both of our interns are unique, eager to learn and bring special talents to the Inner Door Center®.  It looks like this match up ends in a tie!  Go Green!  Go White!  Go Blue!

Visit innerdoorcenter.com or call our office at (248) 336-2868 to receive the support you or a loved one needs today.  We are always on your team!

Leave a Reply

