Staff Feature: Allison Jacobs, LLMSW


I had the opportunity to sit down with one of our lovely, new therapist, Allison Jacobs.  Allison is a gentile and genuine person, and it’s such a pleasure to work with her daily.  She brings so much to Inner Door Center®, and the clients seem to really enjoy her caring approach.  Even though she may seem quiet at first, there is a lot more to this fantastic individual.  Enjoy getting to know her also, in this month’s staff feature.

allison_new_120

Credentials/job title at Inner Door Center®:  Allison Jacobs, LLMSW – Therapist/Social Worker

How would you explain your job:  Well, my job is two-fold. I see individual clients with all kinds of psychological issues, anxiety, depression, life adjustments, and I also work with program, running group and seeing individual clients in our program.

Where did you go to school at and for what?  I completed my undergrad at Kalamazoo College and earned a Bachelors in Psychology, and then I went to graduate school at the University of Michigan and earned my Masters in Social Work.

What does a day at work look like for you?  Varies, always exciting though.  Typically, I’m seeing clients, doing paper work, session planning, and I often conference with other therapist for ideas and support.

What is your favorite part of your job? Making connections with both clients and colleagues.  I learn the most from them, so those connections are very important to me.

What are your career goals/aspirations?  I’m a new therapist, so I’m focusing on that at this moment.  Eventually, I would like to head a program for eating disorders, or other types of treatment.

What are your favorite hobbies?  I love to travel, I’m really into cooking, music, going to concerts, and spending time outdoors.

What is your favorite book? Harry Potter Books, those are the best!

 What kind of music do you listen to? All kinds.  I have really eclectic taste, everything from rock and roll, to jazz, to R&B.

 Who inspires you the most?  Both my parents, because they are really passionate about their own careers, and really work hard.  I’ve learned those traits from them.

An interesting/unusual fact about you that you’d like to share:  I lived in Budapest for six months, in college for study abroad.  I don’t really know Hungarian, though, I just know a little bit.

If you would like to set-up an appointment with Allison, or learn more about of programs, contact us at 248-336-2868  or visit www.innerdoorcenter.com.

Leave a Reply

