Something New


My name is Sydney. I just started as a intern at Inner Door Center from Cranbrook Upper School. As someone who has had friends that have struggled with eating disorders in the past, I thought I knew everything there isIMG_0004_2 to know about eating disorders. I could not have been more wrong. I thought that eating disorders stemmed from nothing more than the desire to be thin or as society deems “perfect”. Eating disorders are serious physical, mental and emotional problems that can have life threatening consequences. Eating disorders affect eleven million males and females in the United States alone.

On my first day working at Inner Door, I participated in the Partial Hospitalization Eating Disorder Program. The first thing I did was yoga with all the patients in the program. As someone who has never really enjoyed yoga, I was skeptical as to whether or not I would like it, but to my surprise, I really enjoyed myself and felt more at peace than I ever have before. If I had to choose one thing that made me feel the most at peace during the entire experience, I would say that it was the focus on breathing and how it clears your mind of anything stressful and makes you focus on yourself and why you’re here.

The rest of the day began with a snack and was followed by a variety of group therapy sessions and meals/snacks. During the group therapy sessions, I not only learned a lot about eating disorders and the individuals in treatment here, but I also learned a lot about myself as well. I felt very comfortable in a room full of people I did not know because of the type of environment the therapists provided. Everyone was so incredibly supportive and accepting of each other, which is something you do not see every day.

Inner Door Center is such a good place to come for recovery. There is zero judgement of anyone and the therapists truly care about the clients. I also saw that the clients support each other, which was really nice. They use each of their individual experiences to help and support each other.

Spending the day in this program made me think about what it means to be a woman in society and how ridiculously high the standards set for women, especially young women. After leaving the program that day, I realized that loving yourself and being at peace with who you are is more important than anything you can get from society.

Leave a Reply

